ToB: The Sisters Brothers vs. Open City AND The Sisters Brothers vs. Lightning Rods

Oh! pleasant exercise of hope and joy!
For mighty were the auxiliars which then stood
Upon our side, we who were strong in love!
Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive,
But to be young was very heaven!

– Steven Helfenbaum, 2011.

Well my friends, this year’s Tournament edges towards its inevitable conclusion with round after round of joy.  First The Marriage Plot is eliminated, then through the magic of the Zombie Round my two favourites, Open City and I THINK YOU KNOW THE OTHER ONE (of which we have three more copies in stock!),  both live to fight another day.  AND the last book left that I haven’t read is eliminated!  (Though I bear it no ill will it is certainly easier to talk about books I HAVE read).  Whatever happens after this point will suit me just fine: either one of my two favourites will win or The Art of Fielding will, and that was ALSO totes great!  So in the way of commentary, I don’t have much.  Yay for everything I like winning lots and yay for The Sisters Brothers for being popular enough to come back?

In the commentary Kevin Guilfoile and John Warner asked a couple of guests what book they would have had in the Tournament if they could, and for me that answer would totes be The Tragedy of Arthur by Arthur Phillips (which is STILL unavailable in paperback in Australia, and thanks to a pesky thing called the law I can’t get the overseas paperbacks in for the shop).  It’s just such a fun, clever, meticulously written book and I loved it and it was the best.  DON’T WORRY YOU GUYS I can give it a proper review if it does come out in paperback and we get it into the shop.  (And I say pfft to hardbacks, what am I a BILLIONAIRE? [No.  Also if only]).

But with the Tournament fast coming to a close my favourite literary event of the year is over, and FURTHERMORE we are totes left with a gap in bloggage.  I won’t lie to you folks, blogging the Tournament was an easy and excellent way to generate good book content, and it was great fun.  So will the blog be able to continue without the Tournament?  You’ll just have to find out by READING IT.

Love yas,
Steven

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

